Learning to Read/Write - A Step Further?

Straycat

Not too long ago I took the time thru self study to learn reading and writing Thai. I'm not very good at it -- but I do have a fair grip on the basics. I can read short stuff without too much trouble but writing is harder.

To my surprise I found learning the basics quite easy. I bought two children posters, one with the consonants and one with the vocals. To sharpen my tone and vocals awareness I've used Courage Software. For further practice of reading and writing I have used some children learning materials.

So far so good. I find it to be lots of fun and that helps of course. I won't touch transliterations again as it's truly worthless.

Now, I want to take it a step further and I'm turning to you fellow board members. ;)

I'm looking for more suggestions on suitable materials, proposed self-study plans, general advice etc. I'm positive many of you have gone thru the same thing so input from you would be highly appreciated.

Also I obviously need a good dictionary. I have one in my native language but I'd like to get a good Thai-English, English-Thai dictionary as well. -- Is any particular dictionary recommended?

A long ass post, I know. Hopefully, it won't scare you to give some input or just a general view concerning written Thai.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi,

Bought "Hansel and Grettel" in Thai last year (much to the surprise and pleasure of the salesgirls (in Nakhon Sawan) :) ). Read it a bit, but got bored checking so many words.

Having said that, my Thai is good enough to decypher most menus and street signs. Nowhere near good enough to read a newspaper though. My problem is that I am lazy :)

Sanuk!

Yeah, Hi Straycat.. (not addressed to TorneyBoy but couldn't be bothered backclicking) ....