property rights and marriage

The age old question, but worth asking again. If a foreign male marries a Thai female, will she lose rights to property?

Long story short, I am an American resident of Thailand (14 years) and plan to marry a Thai girl soon. As much as I trust her family, I do not want her to lose rights to have property. I have heard many an opinion on this subject - if anyone has solid info, it would be most appreciated.

Also, congrats on the new board - Delphi is part of a disturbing trend and it is refreshing to see there are ways around it.

The Frog Patrol

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

From my understanding the farang husband has to sign a document where he states that the property is bought by his wife from her money and that he has no rights whatsoever on the property. In that case the thai wife can keep her property.

Does anyone know of any websites with a little more info on this? I know the Phuket Gazette website, www.phuketgazette.net, has a section on Thai law. I had heard the same thing about the change in 99' but as with all things Thai, it's better to make sure.

This is something I've been thinking about for a while. My wife just got her permanent resident status in the states and is thinking about becoming a citizen, which would really f-up our retirement plans.

She thinks she can have dual nationality, but I don't think it would work.

Brink15