Silly vegan, can't ya taste the fish sauce?

Brink15

In the states we have to have the most pretentious vegetarians in the world. It's not for health reasons that these wankers become vegans, unlike other parts of the world, but because it's hip.

I've been eating Thai food for about 20 years (I know, not long compared to many - Thais excluded), worked in a Thai restaurant, lived in Thailand, and my wife has been a chef at three different Thai restaurants and is, of course, Thai.

Now in my experience very few ethnically Thai people are vegetarians. Unlike parts of India, Thailand is inhabited by carnivores. Thais like their meat and especially their fish and fish sauce.

So it is incredibly amusing to me when some whinging American vegan cackles over how wonderful Thai cuisine is for vegetarians. I don't know of a single Thai restaurant that does not use fish sauce in most of the "vegetarian" dishes they serve. Now this is the states, so I'm sure they DO exist. But I guarantee you they are in the vast minority.

I always thought it would be fun to tell the newly stuffed vegan that the meal he just consumed was made with extract of dead fish. Ummm, yum, yum.

Now, please don't take this as an attack against vegetarians in general, it's not. A friend of mine has been a vegan for almost 30 years and does it for health reasons. I just think the pseudo-intellectual, Hollywood wannabes in the states should find out what is in their food. After they're done eating of course.

laugh.gif" border="0

I have to agree withyou,

when I was at school (back in prehistory) I saw a succession of young ladies declare their newly found Vegetarian status as an attention getting phenomenon. Only to find that the menstrual requirements for iron faded them to a kind of grey at which point they discovered why us humans are omnivores.

succession? suck session? mmm...