Turning Buddhist

SB,

I am suitably impressed with your knowledge of Pali. Where did you pick it up?

Do you know of any sources on the web to learn Pali?

All I know so far is the chant that is said three times when wai-ing phra: "Namo tasat pakawat do, arahat do, sama som poot dasat."

Forgive my translitteration, I'm not very good at it.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

quote:

Originally posted by Brink15:

"I figure one week of walking "bin da bot" and learning a little Pali would give me just a taste."

The morning alms round is actually called bintha-baat, from Pali pinda-paata, "to throw down the lump".

Originally posted by Brink15:

SB,

"I am suitably impressed with your knowledge of Pali. Where did you pick it up?"

Did quite a bit of Sanskrit at Uni and then a lot o private interest in languages in general. Wouldn't know of any Pali study source on the web, though.