Heading for disaster?

Tiger Moth

I am living in Issan. I know a couple of other foreigners, falangs. They are each married to very intelligent, very good English speaking, Thai women.

Neither of these 2 guys know a word of Thai language. Both are entirely dependant on their Thai wives. Neither has integrated into Thailand at all. Both still eat falang food.

Each have entirely turned their financial lives over to the Thai women. For example, one just bought an inexpensive (250,000 baht) condo. The condo was put in the name of the Thai wife's daughter (why not in the name of the guy who put up the money?).

I am not very good at Thai language but I can hold a limited conversation in Thai. Often, if Thai's are conversing in my presence, I can pick out a few words and get the "drift" of their conversation. I primarily eat Thai food, primarily from the local food stands.

So, I feel I am not totally unprotected. Sure, a determined, sophisticated Thai person could pass one over on me. But, I could more than likely identify that I was dealing with a shark and avoid the situation.

These 2 guys, as I see it, are totally exposed. Either they have met the perfect Thai women, intelligent, ambitious, very good English language skills or they are sitting ducks.

I know both Thai women. They seem very nice, but, very ambitious. I think these guys are sitting ducks.

Of course, no one reading this knows the individuals involved and could predict the future.

But, not learning any Thai language at all, sticking with falang food and only being able to interact with other falangs, totally turning financial control over to the Thai wife....

doesn't this look like a future disaster in both situations?

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

But, not learning any Thai language at all, sticking with falang food and only being able to interact with other falangs, totally turning financial control over to the Thai wife....