Work permits

Is it possible to get a work permit without a degree?

I am a teacher, Celta qualified and have been working in a school in Bangkok for a couple of months now.

When I applied for the job the advert did not state that a degree was required and that the school would provide me with a work permit.

I have never pretended to have a degree and the school gave me a 1 year contract and I am enjoying working there.

However I have been told by my school to get myself down Khoa San Road and buy a fake degree to enable them to get me a work permit.

I would rather not do this as I am worried about any comeback from the Thai authorities if they check up on my degree.

Am I worrying unnecesserily and is it possibe to obtain a work permit without a degree ?

What would happen if the authorities did find out I had submitted a fake degree cert ?

crazy.gif" border="0

quote:

Originally posted by Blackcat:

Is it possible to get a work permit without a degree?

Hi,

Not sure about teaching but in general, yes it is possible. I have never been asked if I have a degree ( I don't have one ).

However, I do need to prove that I am qualified in my profession, certificates, test results etc.

Cheers

Roger

[ July 28, 2001: Message edited by: Roger ]

Hi Blackcat,

why buy a fake degree - you can buy one from a correspondence university based on life and work experiences. It's a real degree - worth nothing, but you get a degree. laugh.gif" border="0

elef crazy.gif" border="0

with 2 degrees (both real)

[ July 28, 2001: Message edited by: elef ]

Yes, you can get a work permit as a teacher, without a degree. More than anything, it depends on the relationship that your school has with the Labour Department - the people responsible for issuing work permits... Some schools are able to get WPs for their teachers who do not have degrees while others are not...

Good luck.