Where is this recession I keep hearing abt ?

Hi All,

Yes, several of my colleagues (I work in IT) have been laid off, but I get the distinct impression that a lot of it has been 'we liked you when times were good, but the honeymoon is over'. I believe that those who have left are finding it hard to get a new job, but it cant be anywhere near as bad as we are told for job seekers in the US and Britain.

We are also told that consumer spending has fallen into a very large hole in those countries, yet everytime I go to the shops here in Brissie its like bloody Xmas. I just cant reconcile the media reports with the 'reality' that I am seeing around me - still thousands trooping into office buildings each day, and plenty on other forums talking about buying widescreen TVs and computers : wtf ? I dont particularly want to walk past boarded up shops and people begging, but I think we are living in some sort of denial here in QLD.

Thoughts ?

Gobble

I remember the recession we had to have when living in Brisvegas. It wasn't good but Queen St Mall wasn't boarded up etc.

However I went on a trip to Sydney and Melbourne - Sydney was obviously harder hit than Brisbane and Melbourne definitely even harder hit than Sydney.

I think we're lucky in the Sunshine state.

When in Washington in June I saw the central area (Very nice area) with boarded up shops - now if a capital is hurting that bad the rest of USA must have been really bad.

In the mining game things are looking very grim unless you are a gold miner. Base metals is totally fcuked.

A lot of very stressed people at the moment. A lot of people that I know with many years of experience are now "on holiday" for the forseeable future. lots of places going into "care and maintenance" all over the world.

A few months ago no one wanted to work in some of the more dodgy locations... now they are lining up.

I think i might open pie van near the beach.