How to fix broken English?

SpiceMan

My Thai girlfriend has a good English vocabulary but her grammar is appalling. She always omits the word "am" i.e. "I going shopping later". She has extreme difficulty with the verb "to be" and usually omits that from the sentence. She also doesn't use plurals correctly and doesn't even try.

In the time we have known each other, her English skills improved dramatically at first but recently she has made no more progress. Sometimes it seems her English is worse now than it was four years ago. She now works in an environment where she only speaks Thai. She never had any English lessons and is entirely self taught from books she bought. She likes to read but doesn't have much spare time now. We plan for her to come to the UK later this year where she will work and have to deal with customers on the phone. I fear they will hang up on her if she doesn't speak clearly.

I think what I am looking for is a quick way to fix her broken grammar. Any suggestions?

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply
My Thai girlfriend has a good English vocabulary but her grammar is appalling. She always omits the word "am" i.e. "I going shopping later". She has extreme difficulty with the verb "to be" and usually omits that from the sentence. She also doesn't use plurals correctly and doesn't even try.

Well, it is a typical for thais learning english as they don`t use either in thai language.

I suspect she doesn`t use the auxilary very "to be" as well.

I suggest you write down some examples of the correct use and go through it with her.

She can keep the written sentences as reference.

We all have different approach for learning new stuff, but the written examples and supplementary explainations from me did it for my missus.