A benefit of learning to read Thai

SpiceMan

I got engaged to my girl friend 3 years ago. After all this time I recently learned I had been pronouncing her name wrong. Her name is Tuk. Now I can read Thai, I know its pronounced with a combination D and T sound, dtuk. She never complained but I feel ashamed that I was so ignorant for so long. Now I just need to understand the words I can read.

LOL while there may benefits for sure there'll be drawbacks also :)

Welcome to the club!

How did you learn by the way? self taught or in school?

BTW didn't it pisss you off there's no unique definition of the Thai letters & how about all the redundant letters (having the same sound) & rarely/never used, but still 'have' to memorize them (and soon forget again) :banghead:

I'm self taught using various resources on the web. My motivation was knowing that once I could read the letters and the tone markers I would know how to pronounce nearly all Thai words correctly. But now I have the problem that although I can read, it doesn't make sense. I have almost no vocabulary. My other problem is that although I know what the tones should be, I can't actually say words using them correctly or consistently.

I wasn't pissed of at having to learn the redundant and obsolete letters. I know English learners have it much worse.

I'll quote from an article I wrote for Stickman about five years ago with regard to learning Thai. It was written under another nom-de-plume but I think is still relevant today.

Quote:

Here’s my take on the necessity of proficiency in the language.

I did a basic Thai language course before I came permanently, but you will pick up your vocabulary as you go along. The type of vocabulary also tends to typify the company you keep. The Thais and most resident farangs can tell.