Hi All, I'm A Thai Student Ka

PhDstudent

I've worked with or had contact with quite a few Assumption students, and found them at least as effective - sometimes much more so - than students from big Chula/Thammasat. Most were Burmese or Arabs, international students, and some Thais.

Assumption teaches in English (except for actual Thai language subjects). That gives them a definite advantage, since Chula and Thammasat don't. Outside of the English majors and minors, most Thammasat students are not very fluent in English. That is going to make a big difference once the country is fully open to all ASEAN member nationals and the Filipinos and Malaysians start coming in. Even the Vietnamese are becoming serious about learning English. Most Thais simply aren't interested enough to bother to going beyond "survival level" English, and it's going to hurt them.

I work in an international field, in English, with a broad array of nationalities - and sometimes wonder just how influential I let that mastery of English be. Everyone can speak reasonably well, but really identifying excellent people I suspect is often colored simply by how well they can communicate and sell themselves in English. Would be interesting to that the national/local staff who they think of as the brightest, most effective workers, and compare it with my own list - do I just appreciate the English speakers, or am I capable of valuing those who may not be as good in English, but have better overall intelligence, skills, commitment, etc?

The fact that I appreciate Assumption probably means I'm putting my too much weight on language - but then again, even the fully fluent, internationalized students I've known from Chula-sat or whatever, they have rarely had a very insightful critical perspective, regardless of English - whereas my intl Assumption colleagues certainly have.

Hi,

"Most Thais simply aren't interested enough to bother to going beyond "survival level" English, and it's going to hurt them."