Royal Jordanian Airlines

aussiejohn

Just to let you know, I'm not an expert in this field, I don't check any statistics, nor rankings for safety etc; , but I was flying from Atlanta to Phoenix once with a Northwest Airlines mechanic and asked him about the safety of some of these "no-name airlines" or of some foreign carriers that you don't really know how they view safety... he told me something, in plain logic that I've never forgotten. He said "imagine all the hundreds of planes in the air, right now, as we speak. Some are major carriers, some are minor, but they all need one thing to happen for them to make money, and that is to deliver you or I from point A to point B, and then usually back again. This happens thousands of time a day, close to a million times a year worldwide with even very few "minor" accidents let alone "major" accidents. Now, how worried should you be?"

I never thought of it in so simple terms. I've flown myself all types of airlines from Mexico to Europe and soon "China Air" to BKK. Am I worried because even some in this board think "China Air" has a previous record of accidents in the last several years? Absolutely not, and the reason is since their last accident, they have probably flown thousands of passengers safely from point A to point B without a problem. So, pardon me if I just sit back, relax, and go to the vacation of my life... I won't worry about safety, unless there's a hurricane or typhoon blowing around... and neither should you.

IMHO smile.gif" border="0

Safety of course is not too much of a concern. But you'll be in a small plane with a lot of loud Arabs, probably even with a stopover somewhere you don't want to be. If the price is right though...

China Airlines is totally OK, I was very pleased with them. Very similar to Thai Airways actually. (Even their safety record is comparable, with TG losing a plane every two years.)

Cheers,

Chanchao

To AUSSIEJOHN: