De-facto visa to Australia

Has anyone tried and succeed on getting a visa for their Thai girlfriends to Australia using a spouse status without getting married. I dont want to really get married and spouse visa requires you to be already married and fiancee visa requires you to get married within a specified time.

There is something called Interdependent visa which I thought was what I was looking for, that is, having lived together for 12 months you qualify as de-facto partners.

When I inquired about this at the BKK embassy, they told me it was for same sex couples. I am very reluctant to accept this as it doesnt say anywhere on the form that is the case, besides it is discrimination.

Has anyone any insight into this?

First off I am by no means an expert but I have obtained permenent residency here in my own right and have a number of friends who are "de facto-ing" partners in (of a different sex!!)

Basically, Australian law recognises a partner as a "de facto" if you have lived as a couple for over two years. This law also extends as far as requiring you to divide assets on separation even if you never marry (something to think about - coughing up half your accumulated pension rights is probably not what you want.)

To qualify as de facto you need to provide evidence of cohabitation as man and wife for 2 years. For my friends this included bank statements, joint rental agreements and the like. They even ask for copies of letters between you that may have been sent during the qualification period - I even heard of someone submitting a letter from their mother saying how happy she was that her son had shacked up with his girl! They stop short of requiring video evidence of copulation!

Basically, if you are legit it should not be too hard to prove, although residing in Thailand with a girl may raise their eyebrows. If you are less than 100% as regards qualification it can be a nightmare.