What kind of Visas are being Cracked Down on??

Savittre

quote:

Savittre

Regular

Member # 1158

Rate Member

posted October 10, 2001 11:15

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Guys,

I'm concerned about this Visa crackdown thing, here's why: I'm working in Taiwan, and it's fine, but I've really been looking into teaching in the LOS, and everything I've read (Stickman, posts on these forums, etc.) all seem to give the 'green light'. Come on and work here! they say.

I think changing the country I work in would make a nice lifestyle change. I'm lucky enough to have no responsibilities preventing me from improving the quality of my life.

Since I have plenty of English teaching experience in Taiwan, combine that with the TEFL cert I plan to get in LOS, I figure I could do OK and have a nice time in the LOS. Also, since it does matter in the LOS, I'm white skinned. I'm also a native English speaker.

Now I hear about this Visa Crackdown thing- is it a 'spanner in the works' for me? I want to go the legal route- Non-immigrant B Visa, work permit, etc. Why should they keep me out if I have all my papers etc. in order??

Basically, I like to make informed decisions -leaving Taiwan and moving to the LOS is a big decision for me!!! So, am I likely to be affected by this Visa crackdown?? Does anyone know?? Alternatively, where can I find the information I need to decide about this for myself??

This is really important to me, so thank you all for your input!!!!!

--------------------

Shake Your Foundations

-AC/DC

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Posts: 86 | From: Taiwan | Registered: Jun 2001 | IP: Logged

All times are Bangkok Time

Hi Bro,

Chill, yes in some case's the Thai goverment are refusing to issue some visa's, when you see who these people are and they are trying to get Non-B visa's with bullshit paperwork then what do you expect.