Seeking (and giving a little) Sage Wisdom on Learning Thai

Mike Goodtime

I am looking for some sage wisdom from the people who have a pretty good grasp of the Thai language. In particular, I want to know what strategies you use to learn Thai to include what course materials you would recommend.

I am familiar with and have studied Sanskrit, Japanese, and Korean. Currently I am studying Thai every day from two to four hours. I can read and write Thai script. I can also speak a bit of Thai. Listening to Thai is the hardest part for me in learning Thai.

In terms of learning aids, I would recommend Paiboon Publishing materials. I do not like Rosetta Stone-to much work with little benefit from it. I do not like Rosetta Stone's teaching method. Rosetta Stone seems to have a massive marketing machine, but the content is horrible. The website www.thai-language.com is amazing. I use it every day when I instant message my Thai conversation partners. www.sharedtalk.com is also an amazing resource for finding good conversation partners. Get about five partners, so everytime you go online you will have someone to talk to. Writing, speaking, reading, and listening to a native speaker is the fastest way you will improve on the language.

I live in America and breaking into the Thai community is tough unless you want to marry a Thai girl-then they are all over you.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You say you can read and write Thai script but cant speak it??? I speak Thai with an almost native accent (I am told) but read just the signs menus etc etc-Seem slike yo are well on your way friend...The first thing is to understand the alphabet and the attendant rules... then the rest is easy.Choke dee krap

Go ahead and get a Thai GF-its th best way to learn ...just dont marry her.

<< I speak Thai with an almost native accent >>

So do I ... a native speaker of English! :p