Advice for helping uni student with english

Through a friend of a family, I have been asked to interact with a university student who wishes to get an advanced degree in Australia. She has studied English, but her spoken English is not good enough because she never practices it. The family hopes by spending time several times each week talking with a native speaker her English will improve. I have no teaching experience and speak some Thai. Any suggestions on how to be effective? Even though I think she would be better off going to a class somewhere, I want to help the family as they wish.

She has studied English, but her spoken English is not good enough because she never practices it.

That's the key, she must practise her English by reading and communicating (understanding) with you.

I have a few Thai friends would want to improve their communicating skills as well and I find it very helpful to use English newspapers (difficult, but have nice articles) or all sorts of English magazines (generally easier than newspapers).

Have her read some articles, ask her about it, discuss etc etc.

The only thing you should do is to find articles of her interest as she could get bored very easily if you don't.

I hope you don't mind receiving info from a non-native speaker with no teaching degrees as well. I do have 2 years of teaching experience.

Goodluck!

Do yourself and the student a favour and dispense with speaking Thai at the onset.

I would also steer clear of involved discussions about grammar. Point out mistakes but refrain from explaining why, just offer a better usage.

The point is that a person can learn something off anybody, teacher or not, but actual teaching does require some training so that you don't make mistakes.