Condo Advice

I have been travelling in and out of LOS for 5 years now. I end up there every 3 - 6 weeks for about a week.

With some extra funds I am considering purchasing a condo!

Any advice? I looked at several during my last trip and find them very affordable.

Any idea what I should expect in regards to taxes, utilities etc.?

Any insight would be appreciated!

regards,

Jester

quote:

Originally posted by jester:

I have been travelling in and out of LOS for 5 years now. I end up there every 3 - 6 weeks for about a week.

With some extra funds I am considering purchasing a condo!

Jester

I kind you are quite right in saying they are quite affordable, about one third the price in dollar , when compared to a few years ago.

You seem to be interested in what else to expect besides the purchase cost.

Utilities. I assume you electricity etc.

I would say about 2500 baht per month for any medium size room you keep airconditioning running. Water expenses negligible. UBC-TV about 1000 baht per month.

Maintenance costs, depending on the building, between 15-35 baht/square meter, you have to ask. Taxes : there is a kind of property transfer tax, it used to be in the range of 1% of the price, I read a few times it was waived because of the economic downturn, but you should ask about this. If you have income from your property, I guess you are sometimes expected to pay taxes on them, but that depends on whether you live here fulltime or not, whether you pay taxes in your homecountry etc. In any case the sums would not be that high, unless you have a high income.