Compact flash cards - which is the best ?

torrenova

I've got a Sandisk 256mb card and a Canon IXUS 400. I need a new camera (thinking about another Canon) but will also need another card.

Looking at http://www.sandisk.com they seem to have a few versions. There is the basic, then the Ultra I and II then the Extreme.

My only fault with the current camera is the lag between shots. I am told this would improve with a faster card. but, do I go for an Ultra or an Extreme ?

Still a bit (very) of a newbie to this fandangled world of digital cameras so any help most appreciated.

One thing on cameras though, it has to be Japanese (the camera, not the card).

Well I am only a beginner in dgital cameras but i don't think the delay in shots gets quicker with a faster card. I think faster cards are used for video. For example the one I have does video ar 30fps but it needs a fast card for this to write properly.-peter

I don?t know about the newer Sandisk cards, but their older 256 MB SD versions were notorious for having problems. I would avoid these for sure although I?ve heard their CF versions are OK. The lag or write time between shots will probably not improve much with a faster card as that is usually not the bottleneck, nevertheless I would go with a faster card if shopping for a new one.

Lexar now offers the WA series with 80X technology that claims 12MB per second transfer rate which is about as fast as I have seen. Panasonic makes some fast (10MB/sec) cards that are made in Japan and are inexpensive. Also, I?ve had good luck with PNY and Kingston. Many (if not most) cards are now made in Taiwan and increasingly China, and you can?t be sure where they are made by specific brand ? you have to look what?s stamped on the back of the card.