Grandpa Coders

Chillers

Hi All,

What are people's thoughts on older coders/programmers? I must admit to being rather insulated in Australia from what seems to be the industry norm of hiring coders under 30. Being a coder myself and being over 30 I tend to come up with excuses for why over 30s make better programmers. BUT! Since I am now a business owner with a mind to making money do I need to accept the reality that under 30s really are better for the bottom line? Maybe so.

I've been talking to various companies in Thailand, India, and Europe about hiring coders and most seem to follow the same model - under 30s doing the grunt work. So below I've listed some of the arguments for and against.

For under 30s:

- They are usually at their mental peak

- They are cheaper

- They have less family commitments (kids, wife/husband, etc)

- They are more up to date with current and new technology

- They are easier to train

For over 30s

- They see the "big picture" better than the younger guys

- They have more general knowledge and experience which can be beneficial in many ways

- Super Nerds are easier to identify in this age group. The "Super Nerd" or gun is an absolute IT nut who can do the work of many. It's hard to quantify what they mean to an organization, but they are important.

- They seem to be better at following processes - less gung ho

Ok - if you have more points then please post them. Some of the best coders I know are in their 40s and 50s but I'd have to say that the majority of guys I know in their 50s (and 60s) are doing Cobol work on OSs like VMS and they have no interest in newer OSs or things like Java and .Net. On the other hand, the guys that do are the best I've ever seen - these guys are true Super Nerds.