About Looking for Work as an English Teacher...

Savittre

Is this a good time of year to be looking for an English teaching position? I think the schools do their hiring at certain times, am I right, and if so, when? And there may be certain times of the year when a lot of farang come looking for a few extra baht, too-

Or is the demand for teachers such that I don't really have to concern myself about it?

Thank you!!

Thanks for the reply, whosyourdaddy!

Actually, I have many years experience already teaching in Taiwan, and while I recognize teaching in LOS will be different, I'm kind of hoping I don't have to start off at the very bottom... so

--------------------------------------------

Is this a good time of year to be looking for an English teaching position? I think the schools do their hiring at certain times, am I right, and if so, when? And there may be certain times of the year when a lot of farang come looking for a few extra baht, too-

Or is the demand for teachers such that I don't really have to concern myself about it?

Thank you!!

---------------------------------------------

To Flashermac

I see that you are quite knowledgeable about teaching opportunities from your various posts and I was hoping that you might be able to tell me what my prospects would be in obtaining a decent position(60,000 baht monthly)teaching business related courses at an international school or university in Thailand.

I am 46 years old with a B.A. in History that also included 40 credits in Economics. In addition, I have an MBA from the U of Miami. I worked in banking for 10 years, primarily in the investor relations area-writing all the bank's financial publications and being the Wall Street contact person. For the past 5 years, I have been a stockbroker at a major US discount house. Some of my time there has been spent training new brokers in a classroom setting. Otherwise, I don't have any teaching experience.