Is this type of job available in LOS?

hawaiijohn

I am a clinical social worker who has extensive experience (22 years) in providing public mental health services to folks with a broad range of neuroses and psychoses as well as maintaining a private practice for people with health insurance that covers psychiatric services. I also have experience in EAP (Employee Assistance Program) counseling for corporations. Is there any demand for this type of service in LOS? Any feedback appreciated.

There are approximately half a zillion mentally insane taxi drivers, a quarter of a million (mini) bus drivers beyond hope of mental recovery and a fair collection of politicians who are desparately in need of your services.

But seriously; I have the impression that mental healthcare in Thailand is not really developed.

peesooahbkk,

Do you have the phone number of Community Services og BKK? I hear they are a clearinghouse of volunteer work/projects which I want to check out?

hawaiiJohn,

You have good intentions, but you have two major strikes against you. 1. Your field is culturally sensitive so you clearly need to have a backgound in Thai ways/understanding. And 2. Like health, safety and Environment(my career field), mental health has yet to make in-roads in this developing/newly industrialized country. There is no demand yet in the marketplace (different from real need/demand) and thus no financial worth or recognized value (meaning payment to you if valued as a service/product). I hope you understand my drift. Some years still away unless you are willing to be on the cutting edge w/o little or no financial compensation to you (at least to begin with). Best of luck.

cardinalblue