Choosing the Right Bank

Fellows,

I am moving to bangkok pretty soon (December) from Singapore when I have been working for the last 3 years.

I'd like to get some feedback on what would be the best bank to open an account in bangkok.

My criterias are the following,

Easy access to ATM

Small fee for Debit / Credit Card

Convininent Internet Access for Services (Bill Payment...)

Low fees

Saving account

Possibility to manage Stock portfolio

Of course English speaking staff & friendly

Thanks for the advise...

Cheers

Seth Davis

I would recommend :

1. Bangkok Bank

2. Siam Commercial Bank

>>>Easy access to ATM

>>>Small fee for Debit / Credit Card

>>>Convininent Internet Access for Services (Bill Payment...)

>>>Low fees

>>>Saving account

I don't believe that you will get this one at any bank :

>>> Possibility to manage Stock portfolio

Maybe try Semico if you are talking about Thai stocks. They have a very nice web based account.

Use a branch office that is in the major farang areas to have a better chance for this one :

>>> Of course English speaking staff & friendly

Cheers !

For that stock portfolio one, would Bank of America or Kongkong Bank be any better?

Once you've lived here for a while, at least it's been this way for me, you tend to accumulate bank accounts. Just sort of happens. I have accounts at the 2 you mentioned, and I've also had good luck with Thai Farmers Bank.

Bangkok Bank has introduced Internet banking not too long ago. It's a joke, absolute shit! I am ashamed to belong to the same profession as the asshole who developed it.

All you can do is - see the latest state of your account. No transactions, no history. One line.

In fact, yes, you can "request transaction report" and then go in 4 days to a branch for a hard copy.

Other things you can do - cancel your cheque, see if the cheque has gone through...and, from the next year pay 500 Baht for the convenience of using the Internet with BKK Bank!