studying gemology in BKK

Anyone knows where I could do it??An english course would be much better but if there's little written material(I can't read thai) I may even be willing to try it in thai.

I heard about a place in Ratchadamnoen,but got no clear information yet

Thanks

Try the:

AIGS at the JTC tower 6th floor on the Silom Road.

The GIA on the Surasak.

The Faculty of Science at Chulalongkorn University is home to the GIT where a lot of Thai students study.

All of them have English language courses. Enrolement also entitles you to a visa.

Good luck and drop me a PM if u need more details.

GIA is the most recognized institute in the world. You have basically no choice but to go there.I studied with AIGS in BKK when they were on rachadapisek eons ago, those were fun times, i made good friends studying, but make sure you are serious, this is a hobby that becomes ungrateful if you loaf around. Most teachers will speak fluent, or even native english, no fear about that. Log on the GIA site, and check everything about them. They are a big authority in the gem world,and tuitions are not cheap,neither instruments, but these days, quality comes with a price (except in thai nightlife, ahah...).

See, as you said, I can come up with one everyday, and actually i believe this very one is the 5000th. A drink for you for the pain of extricating this from me (!!!),if we meet,and I'll check who's the real "5000"winner in board bar.

Thanks guys for the answers.Just checked the GIA site,the course I'm interested in(grading of coloured gems) costs 200 000 baths for 18 weeks.Steep.Well,while I could come tomorow with this amount it's still a significant part of my savings.Anone knows wether the course is worth the money??Is it a base solid enough to start a low scale gem trade,given I had some contacts about where to buy and sell the gems(No,not i Thailand).

Any links I should check??

Cheers!

I'm interested in(grading of coloured gems) costs 200 000 baths for 18 weeks