Bar in Phnom Penh

pe7e

Don't laugh, I have a sensible reason for asking:nahnah: This is aimed at the Cambo experts,

Would you consider opening a disco bar in Phnom Penh as:

# might work if done well

# as stupid as opening one in Pattaya

# too crazy to think about

# potentially dangerous :shocked:

I'm no Cambo expert but I can't see that it's a bad idea, especially compared to Thailand. You'd have

- lower costs (I guess)

- less competition compared to the saturated Thai market

- tourism potential greater. Everyone knows Thailand already.

- government/officials just as corrupt/friendly/unfriendly (I guess)

• 2 weeks later...

PP has too many western run bars. Cheapish start up costs from $10-20k.

Unless you have some experience in the hospitality industry I'd avoid running a bar. Especially somewhere like PP where there's potenial to get yourself in a large pile of brown stuff.

When I was there back in the late 90's there were only hand full of bars. Now I go to PP website and there are so many bars, mostly owned by Brits and Aussies me thinks. A good thing. Can anyone expand on the bar scene there? thanx eee

I kind of doubt if I'd be interested in opening such a place for the following reasons:

1. There is not a middle class or upper class of natives in sufficient numbers to sustain a following; the local Khmers who do have the money are often young trouble-makers.

2. Regular tourists aren't into "disco", though if they stay for a week, they might drop in once or twice;

3. Local expats are pretty-much "budget conscious" and have alternatives to finding senoritas; plus, they are usually too old to be dancing the night away :)

On the otherhand,if you can find a location inside of a reputable hotel, this might bring in the type of clientel you want and might offer you some "protection" from certain elements.