Sponsors - random opinion

HeartThais

I think Iâ??m a pretty rational guy. Iâ??m a number-cruncher by profession and proud of it in a geeky sort of way. Not a bean-counter but someone who attempts to model things as precisely as humanly possible using the most precise of languages. I wear it as a badge declaring I donâ??t make money by manipulating other peopleâ??s emotions (I did for many years as a management consultant) which I think is as an unfortunate and disgusting tragedy others are forced to endure or even enjoy.

Reason tells me that sponsorship doesnâ??t work 99% of the time for all the obvious reasons. Relationships donâ??t work most of the time. Throwing money and the power imbalance into the mix only magnifies the problems.

But sometimes, Iâ??m reminded weâ??re also creatures of emotion. There are indescribable rewards to feeding the heart. The regrets only come after and we usually judge our decisions in the after. We give advice to other people in our after but forget they are still in their present. Itâ??s the same equation viewed from two different perspectives. Both formulations are equally valid but canâ??t make sense to the other.

Iâ??ve met a lot of people in LOS whoâ??ve become wise with regret (sometimes their own, often otherâ??s) but I donâ??t like hanging out with them. They are highly likely to be jaded, hardened people. Lots of them are quite funny to be around but I could never be 100% comfortable around someone who can really view people as nothing but warm fuck machines. You know who you are. Youâ??re the ones thinking Iâ??m a fruity faggot right about now.