Question about Thai Buddhism

My wife is a practicing Buddhist. I thought I had a basic understanding of Buddhism. I am also aware of the many

sects (varieties) of the faith. I thought it was all about reincarnation. However, my wife tells me that many monks have taught her that there is a Buddhist 'version' of Heaven and Hell, which I was not aware of, or I may have simply forgotten about ... can anyone clarify this for me ?

I'm no expert on Thai or any other kind of Buddhism but the first thing you need to understand is that what many people call Buddhism in Thailand has been mixed with a great deal of Hinduism, folk beliefs, Chinese Taoism etc.

My understanding of Heaven and Hell in Thai belief is that you might go there as a part of your reincarnation cycle, rather than enternal condemnation in Christian tradition.

>>>I thought it was all about reincarnation. <<<

that is a very complicated question for which there is no clear answer.

what most monks would tell you is, that buddhism is about realisation of truth and that can only reached by meditation not by logic. the way of buddhist meditation is the middle way (but still, some of the more extreme forms of hindu meditation are still practised by meny buddhist schools).

historically seen, popular buddhism has always employed local religions as a tool to teach the population the middle way, such as the bon religion in tibet, some forms of animism and hinduism here in thailand's theravada, confuzianism and taoism in the different chinese schools like pure land buddhism etc.

the 'pure' buddhism from the scriptures is way too esoteric and complicated for the normal population to understand, so that is softened for the people. buddhism was never into extremes and complete strict observance of the dogma anyhow as it accepts human failure. every human has to carry his/her consequences for his/her failures themselves.