Moving to LOS - How did you do it?

mongatu

I have found a new goal in life and that is to eventually move to LOS, fall in love with a tg and hopefully live happily ever after (still in LOS of course). I know that a lot of posters here have already done it. And it is not so simple a thing to do. There are work/career issues, financial issues, and I'm sure other things that haven't yet occurred to me. I would love to hear more details from those who have done it (successfully or unsuccessfully) about how you did it, the problems you encountered and how you solved them, how it is working out for you, etc. etc.

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've been travelling to LOS on business every month for the last 5 years. Over the period of time even I plan to settle down and live in LOS. My idea is not to work but to lead a retired life, now I'm 42 yrs., I plan to move in the next 2 to 3 yrs. I've been working on how to get there. I'm working on 2k USD per month for next 20 yrs.

Working all my life in the high-tech industry, am sick of life. seeing the computer screen for 12 hours a day. Dealing with boring people & techies. Seen million's go by, in the stock options & raising money through VC's. It is of late I really got down to do the maths as to how much money I need for the next 20 yrs.

I find LOS is great place to settle down, work wise your are far better off in the US, till such time it is better to work in US than to look for a job in LOS.

Sure you can have great time if your company sends you to LOS on US salary, you can have the best of both the worlds ::

cheers

vinod

Yeah, I wish I had worked for a company that would relocate me to LOS and pay me a foreign salary, but I'm a self employed professional so no chance of that happening. I'm going to have to do it by retiring there, and maybe just working (or even just volunteering) part time at something over there, more to have something to do (can't have sanuk all the time) than for the money.