ADSL is it reliable, cost?

I paning to get the ADSL in Bangkok, is it reliable service?

It seams there is TOT, and Asian Telecom which one is the better choice? The cost is around 7000 to install as they mentioned. please share your experience with broan internet connection. Thx

I have some experience with ADSL in Bangkok. Mostly, the experience has been reasonably positive.

Firstly, something you need to understand one aspect of the way ADSL service works here. You need a supplier of the telephone line (TOT or TA) and also an ISP. You pay them separately.

On the telephone line, Telecom Asia is clearly best. They can install a new line with ADSL in under a week. With TOT, you will wait for months. Be aware, however, that it is possible to be in an area that does not have ADSL support because of distance to the exchange. With an existing line, you can verify in 10 minutes whether ADSL will be possible.

For the ISP, there are a large number of options. If your usage is high, Internet Thailand provides unlimited 128/64 for 3,800 per month (plus the TA charge of about 1,000 baht per month). You can get unlimited 256/128 for 6,800 per month (plus TA charge of about 1,000). There are various deals for 50 to 100 hours per month from different ISPs. They vary a lot in reliability: avoid the very cheapest options here.

In any case, you must also buy an ADSL modem and there will typically be installation charges. Total one time of less than 10,000 baht. No deposits are required.

Hope this helps.

I've still not seen any indiciation broadband in LOS can be either cheap or reliable. So I'm sticking with cheap (250baht/month) and unreliable 56K dialup. The questions you might ask before signing up for anything:

1. what is the up time of the service (eg: 99.9%)? If they have no idea, you should at minimum keep a dialup backup plan.

2. How much is installation? Keep in mind the average thai makes 200 baht per DAY