car rental - feasable or stupid?

Hi

I'm an photographer that is planning on taking a trip in Dec to photograph the Khmer temples in and and around Korat, Buriram, and Surin for a week or so. I need to get a 'rest' between my bouts of fun, but am also interested in getting a long haired translator to take along too. Now the problem - I need to have the mobility to be at the sites at the right times of the day, so public transportation is pretty much out. Early morning and late afternoon are the prime times. How crazy is it to rent a car in BKK or Pattaya to do this trip or should I use local drivers. The guide books are pretty negative as to finding good drivers,etc. Thanks

Ringmaster

I wouldn't recommend driving in any country until you have adjusted to the conditions. That being said I drive all the time in LOS and find that other Thai drivers have improved vastly over the years mainly due to the improved road systems. Up country driving is much easier than BKK of course and most places are well sign posted. The big rental companies like Avis and Budget have competitive rates both in BKK and all over Thailand.

Cheers,

I don't think it's all that hard to find a driver. If you have a few days in BKK before you head for the country side just check with the taxi drivers out in front of the hotel. Also, although they'll come up with extra charges I'm sure it's will still probably be cheaper than renting a vehicle.

ringmaster

Member # 1321

Skip Surin/Burriram and go to Si Saket.

Go to a town called Kantaralak.

from there go to Preah Vihear in Cambodia (no visa needed) .

Kantaralak Palace Hotel 400b. Motorcycle to Preah Vihear (40km, 1 hr, 250 baht). The park is open 8am-4pm. No border formalities as you travel into Cambodia beyond the temple. The Thais /US have built a fast and modern highway. Preah Vihear was built by the Khmers between 900 and 1150.

If Angkor Wat is better it must be unbelievable.