Learning the language

Hi Ron,

I would recommend that you start with just tuning your ear to the language. That is, listen to it at any opportunity you can get; tapes, movies, music etc. It doesn't necessarily have to make any sense to you but it will give you an idea of how the language sounds, the intonations, tones and rhythm etc. This is what I did when I started learning and I think it really helped. But at the same time I had started to learn to read and write (with some instruction - but really, there are many good books out there that will assist you with this). I did this before I even spoke in Thai with Thai people at all. I didn't really do that until I came to Thailand. And when I did arrive, I thought 'boy' what had I learned???? But, soon enough it all started to fall into place.

Listening is the best key to learning and the best step towards speaking I think. Many people concentrate too much on speaking, but I really think that listening to what is being said will help you much more and give you an idea of how to use the language. Thai soapies were good for me. My teacher had lent me a video of some soapie and I'd watched it from time to time. They are so over-dramatic and often the context is so overt that it's impossible to not pick up the meaning of some of the phrases.

I know not everyone has the patience or the time, but being able to read and write gives you a much better understanding of the language and its usage. I would recommend this.

Cheers,

Dan

Hi Dan, LuckyFarang,

thanks for the info. Just came across a book and tapes Thai for beginners by Benjawan Becker.

Seems this is a good combination for me.

It starts with some words and sentences followed by writing and reading after ezch lesson.

Think this will work.

I learned like Luckyfarang, that is, without knowing how to read and write. This is slowing up my learning at this point so I'm backtracking now.