Training Thais to Teach Thai

I’m in the position at the moment of interviewing literally dozens of Thai teachers to teach courses to start next month.

I put an ad in the Bangkok Post and the response has been overwhelming after just three days. It saddens me a great deal to know that there are so many Thais struggling to find work and that they are willing to commute ridiculously long distances to do it.

This post though is really about my disappointments with the lack of ability that Thai teachers seem to have ( I guess I half expected it)

After a short interview, I will hand them about half a dozen plastic fruits – mango, pineapple, water-melon, etc, and ask them to imagine I am a complete beginner. They must teach me for 10 minutes on the topic of ‘Thai fruit’ and branch out to teach me anything they deem fit.

Without fail, 90% of the teachers just lecture me and give me cultural background which I don’t need and certainly don’t want. Sadly, this is all a direct result of their own inadequate education system where they just sit in class and listen to the teacher drone on day after day.

After I stop them, I praise their good points (even if I have to lie) and then show them how I want it done – using communicative methods. I’d love you to see their reaction. It’s like a whole new world has opened up to them – a whole new approach to teaching that they never thought existed. It’s been a great joy to share it with them.

I’m very worried I must admit, when I think about some of the lessons you guys must be having. It must be terribly frustrating to just sit there and be lectured and be dying for the chance to speak. Thais in general simply do not know how to teach effectively. In many ways it is because they are over-respectful and feel embarrassed at getting students to act out silly role-plays and play language games but it’s all part of the language learning process.