safety on the skytrain??

preahko

has anyone else noticed this...???

I've been riding the skytrain off and on (as a visitor) since it opened in 1999, and pretty regularly since I started living here (2002), so I've gotten to be pretty familiar with the various bumps in the daily regular ride...

lately--in the past 4 months or so--I've noticed some pretty serious jolts and bumps on the track, specifically between siam and chitlom (heading east) and recently, a new bumpy section between rachatewi and siam...

I'm talking here about a serious jerk/jolt of the train that leaves everyone standing scrambling for balance...is this a sign of a disaster to come? it really feels like the thing is going to jump the tracks or something...

haha, although I guess we really don't have to worry, since it's no doubt ISO 9002 (or whatever the fuck) approved, haha....

preahko

I've passed on your remarks to the BTS Engineer and I'm waiting a reply.

He is a friend of mine but very slow in replying to emails.

Will be interesting to see his reply.

It will probably be that there is no problem.

Keep watching this space.

I used to live near the BTS and once every 4-6 weeks you could hear them grinding the rail at night to keep it in shape. Hopefully they still are doing that.

I think the drivers habits have changed. There is a lot more rocking on the BTS in some areas than there was a few years ago. I think the drivers are going faster and accelerating quicker and it definitely makes a change to the smoothness of the ride.

On a rainy day a few weeks ago, there was wheel slippage on the wet track while accelerating. I think that can be controlled by the operator, probably just have to accelerate a bit slower during bad weather.

I wonder if the original drivers were trained by Siemens or whomever and the drivers that are on the rails now were trained by Thai drivers?

For whatever reason, the same driving standards are not being maintained.