Bargirls - are they all hookers?

Right,

After reading that post about bargirl's wages, I need to know one thing. Are ALL the girls that work in these bars hookers? I'm talking particularly about places like the Chaweng road on Koh Samui. Would ALL of the girls working in these bars be hookers? Is it possible for non-hookers to work in these bars? Is there an agreement before employment takes place? Do you have to be hooker when you are employed?

I'm sorry if there is an obvious answer to this but I'm a newbie!

Thanks

Not a stupid comment. I know that in Pattaya, some girls work in bars and do not go with customers, or at least do not have to fill a quota if they don't want to. Either they are waiting for the visa papers to be ready because they marry a farang, or they are still young and timid and slowly learning the ropes, or they are acquainted to the bar owners. NEP is foreign territory for me, but i sense that in Pattaya, bars are more laid-back in their handling of the business. Not a rule probably, either way.

Hi Mr E,

It's a fair question. The short answer is yes - but like much in Thailand it gets more complicated!

I have spent a lot of time in Samuii in previous years (mostly Lamaii) - but not for the last 18 months, so bear this in mind.

It is perfectly possible that some of the girls in the bars do not "work" - to a degree it depends on the type of bar.

As a VERY general rule the more basic / primitive the bar the more likely that all the girls will "work" (apart from the cashier and boss lady). Although like much in Thailand everything is E & OE Some of the girls do not "work" much and others are more keen for the "work".

After a little while it is obvious what type of bar you are in. This does not mean that at least some of the girls in the "better" (?) bars will not "work" as it is often the case that they prefer to work normal bars and then freelance as the need arises - although not all of them do.