Language school for intermediate speakers?

Crash999

I studied at Union and found them to be effective, but largely inefficient. Further, they only want you to study there if you are going to study a lont time (easy to lie about that) and they only have classes from 7:45 - 11:45 AM every day - nothing else. They are somewhat rigid...

Stick

For what it's worth, i took lessons at "baan pasaa thai" in ploenchit and was happy with the teachers (individual, 16 lessons 1,5 hour B6000). However, i'm very bad in languages so after 20 lessons I stopped because my brain could not handle it anymore without using it frequently. They arrange lessons when you want.

I studied at AUA and really enjoyed the course and method , in fact it was a lot of fun ,and it was economical as well (5 full days a week for 6 weeks - 6000 baht )

I don't know what its like now but am intending to return and hopefully complete my Thai studies there if they have maintained their standards .

regards ghbmike

• 2 weeks later...

quote:

Originally posted by ghbmike:

I studied at AUA and really enjoyed the course and method , in fact it was a lot of fun ,and it was economical as well (5 full days a week for 6 weeks - 6000 baht )

I studied there for about three years with some breaks. Liked it a lot, not sure how effective it was in learning to speak Thai. Good system for learning to understand, read and write. However the prices must have gone up substantially. One study unit of 200 hours should be between 12000 and 15000 baht by now.(covers a little bit less than 7 weeks)

Thanks for your replies. I've spoken to some locals about this and, from the feedback I've received so far, I think I might try 'baan pasaa thai'. I need private lessons, arranged after work during the evening at my office and it sounds like they can manage this.

Cheers!