Whats your definition of a "Newbie"?

STDAY3

Just wondered what a 'Newbie' is on this board

I have been visiting Thailand for 29 years now, at one point lived there for 11 years, been reading this board for about 3 - 4 years and have now been a member for 18 months.

However I was referred to as a Newbie in another thread and wondered what I have to do to stop being a "Newbie".

I can only imagine it is because I have only made a few posts as I do not feel the need to run around the board commenting on everything everyone says.

Whats your definition?

Tks

Ste

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't think the term means much really. Some people lurk for a while without posting. They could have lived in Thailand for ages. I guess to me it means a new board member unless otherwise specified. New members are often better informed on certain subjects than old ones. :)

I just did a bit of research and I see the term 'Newbie' was used by me, yikes, in the thread about Stickman (see post # 445510). And further research indicates that you may have regarded the use of said term as in some way perjorative or suggesting negative connotations. Please accept my assurances that it was not intended as a personal comment addressed to you or anybody else in particular. It was simply a feeble attempt to head off yet another 'Is Stickman a hypocrite' debate. I don't think I could live through another one of those. :)

Being new to Thailand and its pleasures is my definition of a newbie. Being new to this board or having a low post count can be a disadvantage and can get the troll police responding.

The fact that so many of us have quite different experiences & expectations is what I like about this board. Everyones an expert on their own experience and as I've said before I enjoy reading posts good, bad or indifferant, I'll decide for myself what is useful, interesting or meaningless.

I hope you are not deterred from making your contribution.

JP