Learning Thai language.

hall

Hi all. I have read through most of the past postings concerning learning the thai language but can't quite see anything which solves my problem. So if anyone has any ideas -- Help!!Twelve months ago I decided to try to learn thai. I could not afford the 1000 baht an hour lessons available in Oz so decided to become self taught. I am having no trouble learning to read,write and speak thai. BUT after 12 months I still cannot "hear" thai. Anything anyone says after "Sawasdee" just doesn't register!!! Bangkok Phil et al - any tips greatly appreciated!!!

Westerners from non-tonal language traditions invariably have problems hearing the tones in tonal languages such as Thai. The actual tones themselves are just very slight inflections in the pitch of the speaker’s voice. Thais are seeped in a tonal environment as babies and for them the difference between the tones is as different as black and white. There is evidence to suggest that all babies are born with perfect pitch and speakers of tonal languages seem to maintain this perfect pitch into adult life and are thus able to distinguish tones in speech. Speakers of non-tonal languages such as English or French lose perfect pitch in all but 1 in 10,000 cases.

So the secret of Westerners trying to come to grips with the tones is practice and time. You don’t need perfect pitch to hear the tones (although it helps), since the actual frequency that a tone is pitched at varies from speaker to speaker. Listen to tapes and .wav files of Thai speakers from the Internet. Eventually the different tones will emerge from the sound files.

Practice makes perfect!

Hi Hall,

Don't worry about this one man and don't beat yourself up over it. I was exactly the same.

When I came to live here I had already done an extensive course in England (Linguaphone) and could speak pretty well. However, the comprehension was a nightmare (especially with male Thai speakers)