Korat-Photo Report

Old Hippie

Last Tuesday, November 28th, 2549 (?) at 06:30, Mrs. Hippie #2 and I loaded up her new Honda Civic, and headed to Korat for the day. She drove us out of Bangkok, then pulled over and told me to drive "...just follow the signs for Nakhon Ratchasima, when you see the big lake on your left, head to Khon Kaen, if the police stop you, pay them 200 bhat ..." or something like that, and went to sleep. I have little driving experience in Thailand, but it was easy enough on the highway. I drove until I saw this...

Korat12007-11-27_18-44-19-a.jpg

A bit further, I saw the lake, and woke her up to ask further directions, as there were 2 ways to Khon Kaen. "...No, I said the BIG LAKE, this is the small lake..." a bit further, I saw the big lake, and the road, and made the left. we were headed to Wat Ban Rai, home of the noted Venerable Monk Lum Phra Kroon. We found our way to the temple, where Mrs. Hippie #2's sister used to work. LPK had set up a technical school nearby, her sister is a teacher there. Here's the temple entrance...

Korat32007-11-27_21-04-17-a.jpg

and the temple...

Korat22007-11-27_20-59-07-a.jpg

And the hall where LPK usually holds his audiences...

Korat52007-11-27_20-14-30-a.jpg

This is LPK...well a statue of him any way...

Korat72007-11-27_20-16-52-a.jpg

We did not get to see LPK, he is old and sick, and his appearances are not that frequent. But we were told he usually comes out between 11 and 13:00...here is a picture of his chair...

Korat92007-11-27_20-45-08-a.jpg

One of the interesting things about this Wat is that LPK is said to have special "powers" (more on this later) and so here we see a follower of sorts beating a woman with one of KPK's robes rolled up. He then basically gave here a Chiropractic type adjustment, and she said she felt better. The beating on my knotted shoulder seemed to help. Here is the woman getting treatment...

Korat162007-11-27_20-43-45-a.jpg