Where to buy Thai language books, study guides etc.

rvaccha

Hi,

I am in Bangkok for a few days. I am currently studying Thai in USA. I want to pick up some learning tools, in particular the alphabet chart. I was told there is a big chart available which shows all the alphabets.

Do you know where I can get this from?

Also, any other study tools that you can suggest (serious only please, since this is for a University language department)

Thanks,

RJ

for thai learning materials geared toward farangs, any Asia Books or Bookazine will do fine, they're all over the farang-oriented areas of the city.

for alphabet charts (and illustrated books) and the like (stuff geared toward thai children), for rock-bottom prices, there's a government school supply store on Rama I, just take the skytrain to the end at national stadium stop, take the forward-most left-hand exit, and after you walk past the national stadium, you'll see it on your left.

preahko

Virtually any discount book vendor in a Thai dept store will have the Thai alphabet charts, probably several varieties of them. Framed, they would look quite nice on a wall and are useful as well.

The Rosetta Stone CD series is good for reading and listening practice - nice supplemental material to a course. There is also an Australian National University CD for learning to read Thai. The original is damned expensive, but you can find pirated copies in Panthip Plaza and similar places for just 100 baht.

Also, for fairly advanced students the Thai karaoke CDs can be useful. Not only do you hear the Thai, but you see it written in Thai (and some rather inaccurate "phonetics") at the bottom of the screen. Pick CDs with some fairly slow pop music -- or maw-lahm "country music" for some cross cultural learning.

Hi,

Thanks for the prompt replies. I am currently staying in Sukhumvit SOI 2, near NANA Plaza.