Taboo...but what do I know...?

Old Hippie

O.k. realizing I am no expert, (never claimed to be), because I don't live in Thailand, and thus know nothing about Bhuddism or Thai culture, I need to ask the following questions...

O.k. Say you live in Thailand, or go there a lot, have a residence there...you frequently pull bar girls, and bring them home to your residence...are you shocked when the neighbors rat you out to your wife? Is it wrong of them to do this?

Now, suppose you Have a wife, but visit Thailand a lot, go with the same hooker all the time, parade her around in front of your friends, and their wives...the wives know your wife, maybe you take her to places where your wife's family sees you together...is this a wise move? and approximately how long before your wife finds out?

Assuming you are married to a Thai woman, and she has family employed in the various Night life locales...or maybe all of them (it's a big family), do you go there, disregard all common sense, and pull girls for short time within an eye shot of the bar which employs the family member/in law?

To me, it isn't so much about losing money to bar girls via scams these days, it seems the "expert Punters" are their own worst enemies, and set the trap for themselves...discuss...

working class thais seem to enjoy a kind of glee in ratting cheating men (or women) out to their spouses. I've found this true of, say, building guards as much as neighbors, wives of friends, etc.

gossip, as it is in many cultures, is an art form here and one of the most loved pastimes.

the only time--in my experience--that you can be absolutely certain that a thai who knows your girlfriend, wife, etc., will NOT rat you out is if she's the one you're fooling around with. that is, they will never say to each other (e.g. as a way to get back at someone) "I fucked your guy," etc.