Work in BKK?

This question has no doubt popped up several times on this board.

But, is there any chance of finding work in BKK?

I am an engineer thou not with a degree and also a rugby coach with vast knowledge on sports, physical education and lirting weights.

I draw the line at pole dancing though.

Any advice will be appreciated for this 39 year old suffering from touch deprivation.

Regards,

John

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

How about those of you who have made the jump successfully? It is not just mutlinational placements and English teachers, is it?

I have been trying to circulate a resume through local BKK headhunters for months, with nary a word in reply. And the economy's decline is certainly not aiding the process.

But would love to learn from those of you who took the chance how you got started, and how you ultimately pulled it off.

And then, of course, was it what you thought it would be, and/or was it worth it anyway? shocked.gif" border="0

YES, to anyone who has made a successfull move from the West to Thailand, I would love to hear your story. I am a 28 year old architect/photographer/artist/web/multi-media designer. IN short... a jack of all trades and master of none. It's not that I have anything against teaching english, but I would much rather hear a story of someone who made it work in Thailand without doing the traditional "1.multinational or 2.teach english". If that's you... please...inspire us!!!

Kane,

The issue is in your post....if you are looking for employment in a foriegn country then you need skills that add value to the workforce already in Thailand... Which "normally" means you are a master at it because in every country there are thousands of people who are Jack of all Trades who have the local insight and language skills....There will be exceptions in all cases....