Its Time To Get Financially Smart

Steve

I've been bullsh*ting the last few years. This years economic meltdown has helped me gain my senses again.

The movie Wall Street was my fave movie for years. I worked in the financial services industry for a large part of my working life after college. I read all the financial books, invested, etc. However, I lost focus after time. Started chasing whores in Asia, got into other things, "this, that and the other" as they say.

I was watching a program just now named after and by the author of 'Rich Dad, Poor Dad'. I read that book several years ago when I was more financially conscious. I also read many other books, some of which come to mind and ones I would recommend to family and friends were:

'The Millionaire Next Door'

'The Richest Man In Babylon

'How To Make Money In Stocks'

The times have changed. One of the things these books and others have said was you can't rely on just having a good job and a 401(k) and everything will be okay.

My main 2009 New Years resolution is to re-read those books and others and get my butt in gear and my frame of mind back into making sure Chocolat Steve's future is as secure as he can make it.

I don't want to sacrefice my fun. I may have to adjust how much fun and when but I want to live life as full as I can as well. Maybe I do have to make a choice. I don't think I do but I'll find out soon enough.

Has this economic crisis been a bit of cold water on your face as well?

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

pushing stocks is like a drug dealer pushing smack !

a Stock broker just wants you to be in the market because they make a commision if you win or lose as long as you buy and sell stocks ,

Walk away from the market , put your hands in your pocket for 6 months and see where the world is ,

Cash is King , keep your expenses down and you can live well , try and keep up with the Jones and gambling (Vegas or Wall Street) and you will lose in the end ,