Airbus crashes into Indian Ocean

Flashermac

Bangkok Post

30 Jun 2009

An airliner with about 150 people on board has crashed into the Indian Ocean near the Comoros islands. The Airbus 310 was operated by the Yemeni state carrier Yemenia Air.

Reports said it was on a flight from Sanaa, the capital of Yemen, and [color:red]was carrying passengers off a connecting flight from Paris[/color].

The three islands of Comoros are about 300km northwest of Madagascar in the Mozambique channel.

The exact location of the crash was not immediately known.

A Yemen airport official confirmed the plane had crashed.

The official said most of the passengers on the plane were believed to be Comoros residents returning from Paris.

The official was speaking on condition of anonymity because he was not authorized to speak to the media.

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

As an engineer, I'm not a great believer in coincidences.

Maybe it IS time to think about grounding the 'Buses until they figure just WTF is going on here...especially if there is a common control system between the three types of aircraft (I assume A330 & 340 are the same, dunno about 310).

I never liked the idea of total "fly-by-wire" and thought the Boeing implementation of the technology was better (redundant hardware controls).

Cheers,

SD

Just read on Yahoo that a 5 year old has been found alive. They've only found a few bodies out of the 153 and one so far is alive. Hoping they find more.

Can't imagine being a 5 year old or any age for that matter bobbing up and down in the ocean for hours after a plane crash waiting for help. Must have been sheer terror for the poor little bugger.

As an engineer, I'm not a great believer in coincidences.

Maybe it IS time to think about grounding the 'Buses until they figure just WTF is going on here...especially if there is a common control system between the three types of aircraft (I assume A330 & 340 are the same, dunno about 310).