Samui

khunsanuk

I'm no expert (having stayed in Chaweng just once) but I know that you do pay a premium for hotels that a) have a swimming pool and B) are actually on the beach.

If you don't require these things, then I'd recommend PK Chaweng Guesthouse. It doesn't have a pool and it's set back from the beach all of 2 minutes walk, but it has nice rooms, well equipped for only 600 Baht. Chaweng isn't very big, btw. You can get there and just take a look.

Hi boss,

my personal opinion, you will find different views : this island is other than the rest of Thailand nothing but a rotten place with unpleasant tourist spots. the small villages are a tasteless assembly of low end bars such as are the tourists, internet cafes and there is no class anywhere, class nothing to do with 'expensive'. I would rather spend 2 weeks at Sukhumvit Road under the Skytrain than one week there. Been there last year January. Horror.

Cheers

quote:

Originally posted by buffalo_bill:

Hi boss,

my personal opinion, you will find different views : this island is other than the rest of Thailand nothing but a rotten place with unpleasant tourist spots. the small villages are a tasteless assembly of low end bars such as are the tourists, internet cafes and there is no class anywhere, class nothing to do with 'expensive'. I would rather spend 2 weeks at Sukhumvit Road under the Skytrain than one week there. Been there last year January. Horror.

Cheers

I'll throw in a different view. I just got back from spending 5 days there with the GF and mostly loved the place. Did the sea kayacking at Ang Thong national park one day. Expensive at 1990B each, but a great experience. Spent another day exploring the island on a rented motorbike and hiking to a couple of waterfalls, also a great day. Also spent a couple of days just lazing on the beach. I stayed at the Natien on the North end of Chewang Beach. It was expensive at 2400B/night, but right on the beach W/pool and very nice.

Ranger

Ranger,