sustainability of Taksin's boom?

iuytrede

Gummigut 2 years ago: "It won't work".

It seems like it has worked. Nowadays the streets are clogged with new pick-ups, it is hard to find an apartment where you don't hear construction noise, and Siam Discovery and Emporium are jam-packed with people looking to buy some kitsch at obscene prices, like a plastic cork screw for 5000 B.

ExGF is a financial reporter and sold her Thai stocks when the SET was at 580. Her comment: "Don't you know that they are making a bubble in Thailand?"

Quite apart from economic and financial indicators, I feel what is going on at places like Loft is a big spending party - and I am afraid parties don't last forever. But I am not an expert.

Any opinions?

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest lazyphil

I just came home from LOS and I'm totally amazed that nearly every car/truck is brand new or very new--I hardly saw an old wreck like you do here like my old work horse but hey at least its mine!!

the bubble chatchai choonhavan's government created took less than ten years to burst. lets see how long than one lasts...

and the boys at the helm now are more or less the same ones from those days, and more or less exactly the same as under the chavalit government.

the old game under a new name...

Read my lips, "2 more years"

lol.

I dramatically underestimated the amount of capital the government could pump into the system without warning bells (off balance sheet accounting). Also underestimated the ability to raise money in weird ass ways.

Whatever happened to the second tranche of Vayupak Fund? Was it all institutionally placed? Is it fully subscribed?

Read my lips, "2-years".

lol

<<burp>>