Charitable/Voluntary work?

Bkkbound04

I have a general awareness of various orphanages/Institutions/hospice's. Has anyone on the board expereience of offering themselves to do voluntary work, I have a healthcare(nursing)and health management background and good english skills. I;m not looking for a salaried post but just considering spending a few weeks or so doing something more than my usual hedonistic bender( although geting married has already ended that avenue of joy!!).

Whenever I'm out in Issan I invariable get asked to meet a class of kids which just descends into mayhem but fun for the kids.If anyone has similar experience could you offer your perspective and share the experience and if possible who you recommend to contact or direct me in the direction of... :question: :question:

Thanks

JP

I was a Peace Corps vol, which is quite a bit different. (I was a university lecturer who did the same as Thai and contract lecturers, except I got paid by the PC - not the Thai govmt.)

www.ajarn.com sometimes has adverts for volunteers for things like summer camps, working with refugees etc. You get room and board and pocket money, maybe transportation too.

http://www.teflasia.com/ajarn/browse_jobs/index.html

----------------------------

Here's an odd one, if you've got an IT background:

Bangkok (Thailand)

At least 40,000 Baht/month

bangkokep@yahoo.co.uk

Full Time TEMPORARY Computer Teacher (5 weeks)

We are currently seeking a TEMPORARY Computer Teacher to teach Grade 4-6 students in our English Program. The position will commence ASAP!

Assumption College Bangkok Primary Section English Program (EP) is seeking an AUSTRALIAN, BRITISH, CANADIAN, AMERICAN or NEW ZEALAND national to apply for the position of TEMPORARY COMPUTER TEACHER.

The position will commence ASAP and initially be until the last week of September (approximately 5 weeks). There is a possibility that the position will extend beyond then.

Responsibilities include teaching: