Questions from a football newbie

Brink15

OK,

I've watched several of the World Cup games and my interest has been piqued.

If I'm going to turn myself into a fan I've got to learn much more about the game. I've already been to FIFA's website, but it didn't answer all my questions.

How much of an impact will Ballack's absence have for the German's in the final?

I know ESPN carries the American games on cable here in the US. Does anyone know if I can catch any of the European league games here? Any teams you would recommend a newbie watch to get a good taste of European football?

I know these questions will probably draw yawns, but I really am interested in getting a better grasp of the game.

Thanks.

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have to assume you're a fellow American like myself because we're the only ones that don't watch soccer.

As a somewhat newbie myself, I'll let you in on a few things. Depending on where you live in the states you may be able to see other leagues.

Foxsports Espanol carries English, Mexico, Brazil and highlights of other league games. Personally, you'll have to put up with hearing it in spanish. Personally I like the English premier league. You won't go wrong cheering for Arsenal, my favorite, but you may be seen as a glory hunter since they have won the league championship. Spanish language stations are a good source. If you have cable or satelite, you may want to check with your local provider.

I would do what I did, watch as many games as you can in different leagues. A team will catch your attention. You'll know its your team when you start caring for them as much as you care for some of your favorite American teams.

As far as the rules, etc. you'll come to understand them and you've also got this board. I've asked numerous questions. You may have to put up with a little ridicule but its water off a ducks ass to me. And its all in fun.

Steve,

Thanks much.