Work in bangkok. Am i dreaming ??

need some advise from expats.

i am seriously thinking of moving to bangkok and stay for a couple of years. but after reading a couple of posts on this board i think i just should cut the crap, stay in my home country, earn decent money and enjoy a dull life.

however, i am going to ask it anyway.

i have a degree in manufacturing automation (B.Eng) and 3 years experience in developing software for PLCs, microcontrollers, realtime enviroment,... (all flavors C/C++, IEC1131, Java, JavaScript, HTML, PHP,..). and about one year as a team leader.

any chance to score a job in bangkok with a decent salary ?

thanks in advance for any advice.

alex

While I know nothing of your business, so take it with a grain of salt...

I believe your profession has to be in demand here. I know one guy who does plant automation and has done that for facilitites that produces everything from Crest to Panties (think panties) and he does quite well and is continually busy.

You've got one of the few backgrounds that headhunters would be really interested in. I would contact the major headhunter firms (easy enough to find on the net, like grant thornton, E&Y, blah blah blah). Garner and determine interest. If it's really positive, I wouldn't accept a job. Build some cash, get over here for a few months and test it on the ground and see what opportunities open.

No offense to Khun Sanuk, but the opportunity with Vektor would in all likelihood not match the salaries of the international manufacturing companies who would want your services and is distinctly different from the work you are performing now.

<<burp>>

>any chance to score a job in bangkok with a decent salary ? <

i definately think so, but you should not try local hire, try for an expat contract from the west.

• [color:blue]"any chance to score a job in bangkok with a decent salary ?"color=blue>