Cebu

OK guys, going there in a few weeks and know nothing about it.

I have to stay at the Marriott, so that's covered. And ata corporate rate of less than 3700 pesos a night, it seems to be a good deal.

What about travel from the airport? Are there meter cabs & airport limos, or just the gypsy/negotiate-your-fare type cabs (meaning I'd be better off getting a car from the hotel to pick us up). Cost is not a concern, just ease of use as I'll be travelling with a complete newbie to Asia.

Nightlife nearby the hotel (prolly none)?

Transport within town?

Recommended restaurants, pubs, things to do (even tho' this is a biz trip and likely will not have time to do them)?

Any boardies there?

Cheers,

SD

ISG suggests there is some action there. Sure when you get there the locals would be better placed with info on who, whoops!, what to do. Pretty much everywhere I have ever been in PI, maybe a couple of dozen different places, but never Cebu, would have to say that place for place there is maybe more action than up country Thailand.

I've had a couple of trips there and it's not one of the highlights of the Philippines.

I met up with an Aussie ex Vietnam guy who showed me the seedier side of town which seemed to consist of about 90% of it.

The street scene is particularly gross and one woman offered me a "massage" for 20 pesos, about 15B.

I strongly suggest that if you are there on business you accept any invitations offered for a night out by Philipino businessmen.

Like in Thailand they will know all the best bars and nightclubs.

Apart from Cebu City the island is quite nice, with beaches and resorts to be visited.

Regardless of what you maybe told the New Peoples Army, one of the World's last Communist guerrilla forces, is still active on the island but have not shot a tourist for a number of years.

A part from that, enjoy. If you have a couple of days free fly down to Angeles City, there is a direct flight, or was when I was there.