Wake-Up Pills

Fiery Jack

There was a handy thread a couple of months ago regarding over-the-counter (be it legal or otherwise) sleeping medications. What about the other end of the stick: after a few boozy sanuk-filled days and nights in LOS I usually need something decent (not espresso or Pro-Plus, for God's sake) to kickstart me in the morning and put my lights back on at night. There used to be some very useful eye-opening pills called Captogen around that you could obtain (legally, then) over the counter but when I've asked for them recently I get stern, tut-tutting stares and shaking heads, implying that they are now taboo. I'm not talking dodgy back-alley stuff here, just whatever might be available in an "understanding" Patpong pharmacy.

Any ideas?

Jack wink.gif

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Have you considered energy drinks (Red Bull, etc.)? I have no personal experience, but I have heard that the amounts of effective substances in the concoctions sold in Far East are much higher than are permitted in Europe, even when the brand is the same.

My former European girlfriend visited me in Japan, and tried one of the local energy drinks to get going in the morning after a night of heavy drinking. She told that it tasted awful but also really kick-started her.

Wagner

Fiery Jack,

Lipo is a pretty popular energy drink. It's above board so you should have no trouble buying it in bars, supermarkets etc.

It's quite commonly used by taxi drivers working long shifts.

However the best remedy for your tiredness might be a good nights sleep...

Gotta go with DB on this, speed kills. I usually, maybe the third day into the trip, get worn down, a massage and a good nights sleep do it for me, and then I', back at it . Lippo also helps ifyou start drinking it early in the day and keep going with it, I find 4-6 over the course of a day will help!

"kickstart me in the morning and put my lights back on at night".