work in LOS

Hi,

i'm italian & live in Luxembourg. I speak french, german, italian, english and Luxembourgish. I have 5 years work experience in investment fund management.

I'm looking for a job in LOS in the tourism or banking.

Do you think it will be possible to find something??

If yes, how could I find?

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Don't come to LOS without job in your hands,it's VERY difficult to find something here without the right connection or protection.You experience wont help you here,try to find international company with local branch or something like this.

Can you live the life style you're accustomed to on 30,000 baht? If so, teach English. But from what I hear this is the wrong time of year to be doing that. Other option, Go out on a limb and buy or start up your own business. I do believe that is your only options aside from finding international employment ( good luck! ). One thing I have been thinking about is living in the States and working for four months, then living in Thailand for the other eight, just doing whatever! ...... Dream the impossible dream!...ohhhhh....sigh!

:beer:

Here it is in short:

1. The only employers that pay farangs decently here are multi-national companies.

2. If you are an ex-pat living here, and you need a job, no multi-national will even consider you. (I like the comment by somebody who worked in a multi-national company in Bangkok, in an earlier reply to a similar inquiry - stating that his HR department automatically shredded without reading any resume/CV submitted by a farang redident of Thailand. Yes, it is THAT bad).

3. If you somehow bust your ass and make something out of nothing here as an ex-pat entrepreneur - then suddenly you may actually become acceptable to local employers - but - at that point - - you will be successful enough that you will not even consider working for a corporation again - or have any need to.

The infamous "Catch - 22".

Let the good times roll!

StoneSoup

Hi,