How long did it take you to find NEP

SingaporeSteve

Another post got me thinking about this. I had been coming to Bangkok on business for about 18 months before I had ever heard of NEP let alone been there. :o

My early expereince was limited to Riva's at the Sheraton and CM2 at Novotel. I always thought nightlife in Bangkok seemed rather tame to what I had expected. In Top Ten in Singapore couple of guys I was chatting to were telling me about some escapades at Nana Plaza and I thought what the fuck are they getting up to in a shopping mall :: After admitting I had never heard of the place and taking a considerable amount of ribbing they enlightened me at to the tropical paradise that I had been missing.

Wierd, in that in all the trips I had taken to Bangkok, nobody had ever told me about NEP. Many times in Riva's closing at 1.00am, I asked the barman where else was happening and they would all say everything now closed. Clearly looking out for their customers but hardly correct.

Naive indeed but I am sure I cannot be alone in being slow to discover NEP :dunno: My god that was 4 years ago now and the same staff still seem to be working in Riva's as I popped my head in for a beer couple of weeks ago with a guy staying there. First thing I told him was that paradise was further down the street and not to hang around at that joint.

Cheers

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I was having the same thoughts when I read a post within the last few weeks. Don't remember the thread, but brought back memories.

The first 3 times I came to Bangkok (a few weeks each trip) the only BG nightlife area I went to was Patpong. Stayed in that area. I did know about Nana and the other areas not too far away.

I didn't venture there because I was having too damn much fun in PP! And if that was then (or still now) was the only area for sanook, I would still be happy. I don't venture to PP much anymore. Only if I show it to someone on their first tour of the city.